Vietnam officially named New Wonder of Nature

TN News

Email Print

A Switzerland-based foundation, which initiated a four-year global poll on new seven world wonders, has announced that Vietnam's Ha Long Bay is among the winners passing its validation process.

According to New7Wonders Foundation's website, Ha Long Bay in the northern province of Quang Ninh has been officially named a new wonder of nature together with Iguazu Falls at the border of Brazil and Argentina, Jeju volcanic island off South Korea, and Puerto Princesa Underground River in the Philippines.

Meanwhile, Komodo National Park in Indonesia, South Africa's Table Mountain, and the Amazon Rainforest in South America are still provisional as the foundation's vote validation process is underway.

A report on Vietnam News Agency on Friday quoted New7Wonders Chairman Bernard Weber as saying that they hoped the victory will help gain Vietnamese people's awareness of protecting natural landscapes.

Asked if Vietnam will have pay monthly fees to the organization, Nguyen Van Tinh, chief of the Department of International Cooperation under the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism, said they do not have to pay any fees.

Meanwhile, Jean Paul De La Fuente, director of New7Wonders, said in the report that they never charge any country which won the recognition.


Ha Long Bay is New Wonder of Nature
New Ha Long Bay status sparks preservation concerns 

Like us on Facebook and scroll down to share your comment

They only charged those which participated the campaign US$199 each when it was launched, Fuente said.

The ceremonies of announcing the recognition will be organized in Hanoi and Ha Long Bay this April 27 and May 1 respectively, the news agency said.

Launched in 2007, the New7Wonders of Nature campaign started with more than 440 locations from about 220 countries. Finalists were chosen by phone and SMS voting.

More Travel News