Vietnam names six new hosts for "Tourism Year'

TN News

Email Print

The Vietnamese government has agreed, in principle, to a plan outlining the next six destination sites for National Tourism Years 2012-2017.

According to the plan proposed by the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism, the central province of Thua Thien Hue will host the event next year, followed by Hai Phong City and Lam Dong, Thanh Hoa, Kien Giang and Lao Cai Provonces, the government said in statement on its website.

National Tourism Year was initiated in 2003 by the Vietnam National Administration of Tourism.

Each year a province or city is spotlighted by the program, which was launched to promote the tourism potential of every site to international visitors.

Previous hosts include Quang Ninh, Quang Nam, Can Tho and Hanoi.

Phu Yen and other coastal central province will be the focus of the program in 2011.

The government said the annual event has helped attract investment in the tourism infrastructure and boost the local tourism industry in an sustainable manner.

Deputy Prime Minister Nguyen Thien Nhan has asked the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism to ensure that the planning and organizing of the event will yield a concrete return on their investment.

More Travel News