Century-old postcards keep Da Lat’s charm alive

Thanh Nien News

Email Print


During the 1890s, French colonialists, including the noted bacteriologist Alexandre Yersin, protégé of renowned French chemist Louis Pasteur, asked the French governor-general, Paul Doumer, to create a resort center in the highlands.
The governor approved. In 1907, Da Lat was chosen as the location for such town. The French endowed the city with villas and boulevards, and its Swiss charms remain today.
Below are old postcards that captured the charm of Da Lat’s iconic buildings and sites around one hundred years ago.

A railway station operated by the SGAI, a company that had managed the operation of the railway in Da Lat 

The city hall of Da Lat 

A cathedral built in 1923. It was then replaced by a new cathedral named Rooster Church in 1942 on the same location.

A governor's palace in Da Lat 
Xuan Huong Lake in Da Lat 
The Langbian Palace Hotel, which is Da Lat Palace Hotel today 
The Langbian Palace Hotel viewed from the north
The location of an exhibition center 
A complex of villas near the Langbian Palace Hotel 
Pongour Falls in Duc Trong District near Da Lat 

More Travel News