AFC Champions League: Hanoi T&T crushes Persib Bandung 4-0

By Do Hai - Minh Hung, Thanh Nien News

Email Print


Hanoi T&T’s two strikers each scored a double as the V.League 2014 runner-up defeated Indonesia Super League Champion Persib Bandung at the AFC preliminary round on Tuesday.
With a strong support of home fans who came to watch the game at My Dinh Stadium for free, Hanoi T&T launched multiple attacks right at the beginning of the match.
But it took 34 minutes before the home team took the lead with a succesful penalty kick by the Argentine captain Gonzalo Marronkle, after Dias Putra brought down Duy Manh.
The Indonesian team suffered another goal minutes into the second half when goalkeeper Wirawan parried Gonzalo's header into the path of Hanoi T&T’s naturalized Nigerian striker Hoang Vu Samson, who made no mistake with the follow-up
Gonzalo scored his second goal in the 57th minute from a good coordination with Van Quyet.
In the 71st minute, Samson also had his second goal with a header from a pass by Quoc Long on the right wing.
Goalkeeper Hong Son shined in the match, blocking multiple attempts by Persib Bandung players, including a powerful shot by the Malian striker Konate in the 84th minute.
Hong Son also blocked a penalty by Konate in the 87th minute after a Hanoi T&T hand-ball in the box.
After the match, Persib Bandung Coach Djadjang Nurdjaman said his players had been exhausted by the long trip before the match.
He hailed good performance of midfielder Duy Manh and striker Thanh Hao in the match.
He was also impressed by Vietnamese fans who cheered his side in the last 15 minutes of the game.
Meanwhile, Hoang Vu Samson said he and his team played well thanks to great supports from local fans.
Hanoi T&T will leave for South Korea for a play-off match against Seoul FC on February 17 to compete for a slot in group H.
Another Vietnamese club, V.League 2014 champion Becamex Binh Duong, already qualified for in Group E at AFC Champions League.
The group stage will kick off from February 24-May 6 to select 16 teams to compete in the knockout stage from May 19 – November 21.

More Sports News