Vietnam house speaker proclaimed Party chief

TN News

Email Print

Parliamentary chairman Nguyen Phu Trong was elected to the position of General Secretary of the Communist Party during the Party's 11th National Congress on Wednesday (January 19) the final session of the eight-day meeting.

During the proceedings, the 1,377 congressional participants also elected 14 members of the Politburo.

Trong, 67, had been serving as chairman of the National Assembly, Vietnam's legislature, since 2006. He replaced retiring Nong Duc Manh, 71, who has been the party chief since 2001.

"I, myself, to some extent, haven't met the expectations of the people and the Party members," Manh told delegates in his closing remarks. "And I honor the reports that you heard over the days that pointed out our shortcomings in the leadership, for the party's central committee, and I also take my responsibility."

During his inaugural address, Trong pledged to bolster the Party's strength and develop the country into an industrialized and modernized state by 2020.

Nine re-elected members will sit on the new Politburo.

The incumbents include: Prime Minister Nguyen Tan Dung, the Party Secretariat's permanent member Truong Tan Sang,

Standing Deputy Prime Minister Nguyen Sinh Hung, Minister of Public Security Le Hong Anh, Minister of Defense Phung Quang Thanh, Secretary of Hanoi Party Unit Pham Quang Nghi, Secretary of Ho Chi Minh City Party Unit Le Thanh Hai, and Chief of the Party's Committee for Propaganda and Education To Huy Rua.

The five newly elected members of the Politburo include Dinh The Huynh Nhan Dan (People) Newspaper's Editor-in-Chief, Ngo Van Du head of the Party Central Committee office, Tran Dai Quang Deputy Minister of Public Security, Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc of the Government Office and Tong Thi Phong the National Assembly's vice chairwoman.

Phong, 57, is the second woman to have been elected Politburo member (Nguyen Thi Xuan My was the first woman elected in 1996).

Meanwhile, six members of the Politburo's 10th session ended their term and were not re-elected, including Party Chief Nong Duc Manh, President Nguyen Minh Triet, Deputy Prime Minister Truong Vinh Trong, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs Pham Gia Khiem, Head of the Party's Central Inspection Committee Nguyen Van Chi and Head of the Party's Organizing Commission Ho Duc Viet.


Born on April 14, 1944 in the Dong Hoi Commune of Hanoi's Dong Anh District.

Member of the Vietnam Communist Party since December 1967.

1963-1967: Studied philology in Hanoi.

Editor at the Communist Magazine during the periods of 1967-1973, 1976-1980. .1981-1983: Studied history at the former-USSR Academy of Social Sciences.

1991-1996: Editor-in-Chief of the Communist Magazine.

1996-1998: Deputy Secretary of Hanoi's Party Committee.

1998-2000: Head of the Party's Ideology, Culture, Science and Education Committee. . 2000-2006: Secretary of Hanoi's Party Committee.

2007-2011: Chairman of the National Assembly.

January 19, 2011: General Secretary of the Vietnam Communist Party.

More Politics News