49 Vietnamese officials to face vote of confidence next year

TN News

Email Print

(L,R) President Truong Tan Sang, Prime Minister Nguyen Tan Dung, Communist Party of Vietnam General Secretary Nguyen Phu Trong, and National Assembly Chairman Nguyen Sinh Hung

Prime Minister Nguyen Tan Dung and President Truong Tan Sang will be among 49 officials to be subjected to the vote of confidence at the National Assembly's session in set for May, 2013.

Other officials to go through the first-ever voting of its kind in Vietnam will include deputy prime ministers, vice presidents, and other members of the government, Dan Tri quoted Nguyen Hanh Phuc, chief of the NA's office, as saying at the ongoing session of the NA Standing Committee which began the second week of December.

The results are to be announced right after the voting, it reported.

Under a resolution passed by the NA last month, lawmakers express the level their confidence in selected officials by choosing one of the three options: "high confidence," "confidence," or "low confidence."

If the officials receive "low confidence" votes from more than 50 percent of lawmakers two years in succession, they will face a vote of no confidence. 

They would also be subjected to a no-confidence motion immediately if two-thirds of the lawmakers do not have confidence in them.

Officials who lose lawmakers' confidence can step down or be relieved from their positions by the NA or the People's Councils.

According to the resolution, officials who serve in positions appointed or approved by the NA and the People's Councils the legislative bodies of local governments are subjected to the vote of confidence.

Like us on Facebook and scroll down to share your comment


More Politics News